Usergroups  ·  Register ·    Profile  ·  Log in to check your private messages  ·   Log in     

Computer Tech Help thread(For ALL computer problems)



Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28, 29  Next
Computer Tech Help thread(For ALL computer problems)
Author
Message
StorminNorman
Gillard-chan


Joined: 15 Aug 2001
Posts: 22106
Location: Tolmekia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the corruption random each time or do the same files get corrupted. You might be encountering a bug in OS X if it's the latter.
_________________
XBL: Tamaaya | PSN: Stormo | Steam/GameCenter: StorminNorman | Stormo Plays Games
save your tears for the day when our pain is far behind
fast and free follow me we are soldiers stand or die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
HimuraBattousai
Kagami Yagami


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 8692
Location: Tsukuyomi Shrine

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
It appears to be random.

This time around, I've just installed Kubuntu to try to determine if Mac OS X is the problem or not.
_________________
Funya | Opinionated Anime Reviews
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
StorminNorman
Gillard-chan


Joined: 15 Aug 2001
Posts: 22106
Location: Tolmekia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's probably a failing SATA controller.
_________________
XBL: Tamaaya | PSN: Stormo | Steam/GameCenter: StorminNorman | Stormo Plays Games
save your tears for the day when our pain is far behind
fast and free follow me we are soldiers stand or die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
HimuraBattousai
Kagami Yagami


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 8692
Location: Tsukuyomi Shrine

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's an annoying thing to have fail in a laptop.

Is there an easy way to test that?
_________________
Funya | Opinionated Anime Reviews
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Tragic Man
Abriel Nei Debrusc Borl Paryun Lafiel


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 7106
Location: Tamworth, NSW

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Less a technical problem than a general query.

Pepople who use Steam, do you back up each game seperately, or everything into a single backup?

I assume a single backup would take up less space.
_________________
Nullus Anxietas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chippy
Minawa Andou


Joined: 22 Feb 2001
Posts: 525
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
if I am going to backup I usally put my fav games in 1 "pack".
games would be the same if they wore in there own pack or in 1 big pack expect for the below

any game using the Source engen will take up less space if there packed together as they use a lot of common files
eg
HL2, HL2:E#, CS, TFC, Garrys mod, DoD, Sin:E1, Portal, Portal 2, and others I cant think of atm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ICQ Number
The Tragic Man
Abriel Nei Debrusc Borl Paryun Lafiel


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 7106
Location: Tamworth, NSW

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've got the Half-Lifes and Portals, so that sounds good. Thanks.
_________________
Nullus Anxietas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
speedfreek19
Itsuki Koizumi


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 14599

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Booted up my old desktop (8 year old AOpen something or other ) and i'm getting one long beep at bootup and nothing on screen.

I've seemingly eliminated near every other issue, that doesn't point to the video card. Is said card dead?

Last time I ran it, I didn't even have the monitor plugged in as I was accessing it remotely and had no issues and this was about 3 months ago. Even plugging the VGA cable into the onboard VGA port still gets the same results. I don't think its the PSU as all the fans spin up as well.

I've googled beep codes as well and not really any closer to the issue, apart from what it may not be.

Edit: Apparently it was the RAM, took it out and put it back in again and booted up fine. *shrug*
_________________
I am a 100% Belldandy fan and Ah! My Goddess Obsessor!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
SS3 Son Goku
Cagalli Yula Attha


Joined: 26 Jun 2001
Posts: 2519
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
speedfreek19 wrote:


I've googled beep codes as well and not really any closer to the issue, apart from what it may not be.

Edit: Apparently it was the RAM, took it out and put it back in again and booted up fine. *shrug*


The Beeps are a good diagnostic for machines since you can find the problem by just listenning.

I've worked in the I.T department technical area and I've had to deal with lots of problems and sometimes an easy fix is just to take the memory out...clean it and put each one back in one-at-a-time until you know which memory is faulty.

But sometimes it something unrelated such as internal modem PCI card causing no display...when you think it's the video card...yes it sounds bizarre but other PCI cards can cause conflicts with other devices...so thats a food for a thought to your problem.

SO if no display when booting check all your other PCI cards too.
Take them out and clean them as it's probably just dust in the components.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CG
Yukino Miyazawa


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8519
Location: Brisvegas, QLD

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
speedfreek19 wrote:
Edit: Apparently it was the RAM, took it out and put it back in again and booted up fine. *shrug*


Tends to be RAM when that sort of thing happens. First thing I ever did when that happened was re-seat the RAM and that tended to fix it.
_________________
digtrioPortable - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
u523
Kuu


Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 1327
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just installed the Mozc input method on both pc's here.

Certainly helpful for typing ひらがな、 カタカナ、 漢字。
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Werewolfforhire
Arumi Asahina


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 1789
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm currently struggling to try out some *nix variants, on an old PC (I've got several spare drives, so I thought I'd try two different versions and just swap the connected drive when I wanted to swap between them).

I'm having major problems getting Debian 6.04 k freebsd to install, as it's giving a dev /ad0 error message (looks like the partition settings it's trying to use are wrong, despite me letting the installer choose them automatically).


And I've been trying to get centos to run, it installs fine, but leaves me at a command prompt log in, where it wants a user name it hasn't asked me/told me about, and a password.

I've tried the password I specificed during the instal, along with every variant of Admin/Root etc I can think of for the user name (I even reinstalled it and set an easier password), and I've yet to find a nice easy to use guide for it:p

I probably shouldn't have tried it when I'm not feeling too well to begin with, as I reached the point where I was muttering naughty words and getting annoyed:p

I think I'll spend some time in the morning/afternoon looking for some newbie guides.
The annoying thing is, that the last time I tried playing with Linux, going back about 6 years I got it installed duel boot with no issues, but this time I can't get it installed on a dedicated system :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
u523
Kuu


Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 1327
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
I literally installed Debian GNU/Linux on a machine with a cyrix "686" CPU (more like a 486 CPU at 166 MHz) with 48 Meg of RAM, and moved the hard disk into a newer machine, migrated to a newer disk drive and changed machine and disk drive again without re-installing.

Maybe keeping a close watch on the development of the GRUB2 bootloader and in contact with the developers helped, as one of the machines had a BIOS that could only see the first 8 gigabytes of a disk drive which lead to interesting problems with larger hard disks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Werewolfforhire
Arumi Asahina


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 1789
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I remember the Cyris 686 chips, weren't they "over drive" ones? (or was that the AMD version?).
That's going back a few years:p


I tried the Debian i386 install dvd today which didn't even get as far as the partition manager as it didn't like the graphics mode (unsupported graphics mode 319 from memory), so at the suggestion of someone on another forum I tried the netinst version.
Same error.

Cue me turning it off for a few hours as I was getting annoyed Smile

I tried it again later with the DVD, but this time read the help options fully, and decided to give it a go without the automatic front end.
Cue me selecting the exit from the help menu, it starting the boot/install process and giving me the error about unsupported graphics mode again, but this time it gave me the option of seeing what modes where supported, and manually selecting one.

I've now got a fully functioning version of Debian installed, ready to play around with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Nargun
Siegfried Kircheis


Joined: 30 Aug 2001
Posts: 4804
Location: \relax{}

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Geh. Debian throws a fit when I try to install grub to a thumbdrive.
_________________
Zettai Unmei Mokushiroku
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
u523
Kuu


Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 1327
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nargun wrote:
Geh. Debian throws a fit when I try to install grub to a thumbdrive.


I haven't tried this myself yet... I keep a few cd-rw's handy for rescue images and the like, since I still have a machine that can't boot from USB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mangaman
Magical Girl


Joined: 13 Apr 2001
Posts: 7342
Location: Adam Tang's Noodle Bar

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
u523 wrote:
a machine with a cyrix "686" CPU (more like a 486 CPU at 166 MHz) with 48 Meg of RAM,


I think you stole my PC from 1996. It had an amazing 686 running at 100mhz. Did all sorts of tricks to get 16-bit support in DOS (Scitech Display Doctor FTW!), Quake to run smoothly in DOS and used a CPU-hungry wavetable emulator to make MIDI sound not-awful on our recycled SB16 soundcard my brother and I forked out $$$ on back in 1994 for our 386.

At least I think it was '96, those specs sound more like '97 to me... that PC kept us going until the powerhouse that was a Celeron 400mhz in '99. We added a Voodoo 2 card to that setup. It was so choice Smile
_________________
Gisoku Budo - a martial arts blog with a twist
RetroOtaku - my nerdy retro gaming soap box
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nargun
Siegfried Kircheis


Joined: 30 Aug 2001
Posts: 4804
Location: \relax{}

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
And it turns out my much-loved kyocera printer is looking pretty terminal.

Gah.
_________________
Zettai Unmei Mokushiroku
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Tragic Man
Abriel Nei Debrusc Borl Paryun Lafiel


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 7106
Location: Tamworth, NSW

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Something happened to Media Player Classic. When I try to go fullscreen, the video remains its original size on a black background.

I've fiddled with the settings, and the best I could get is fullscreen with 4:3 stretched to fill the screen. On the other hand, anamorphic 16:9 videos are now 4:3 in windowed mode.

How can I make it keep the aspect ratio in either window or fullscreen mode?
_________________
Nullus Anxietas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mangaman
Magical Girl


Joined: 13 Apr 2001
Posts: 7342
Location: Adam Tang's Noodle Bar

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's easy to sort out - use VLC Wink
_________________
Gisoku Budo - a martial arts blog with a twist
RetroOtaku - my nerdy retro gaming soap box
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Tragic Man
Abriel Nei Debrusc Borl Paryun Lafiel


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 7106
Location: Tamworth, NSW

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, yeah, I've got VLC. I've just been fiddling around with MPC. It looks like I've got it sorted. Very Happy
_________________
Nullus Anxietas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
u523
Kuu


Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 1327
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
The thunderstorms that hit Adelaide during the week managed to take out the power supply for my printer, and I'm waiting on a replacement under warranty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CG
Yukino Miyazawa


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8519
Location: Brisvegas, QLD

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Came across this today. No need to thank me. It works and it works rather well. Smile
_________________
digtrioPortable - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HimuraBattousai
Kagami Yagami


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 8692
Location: Tsukuyomi Shrine

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
CG wrote:
Came across this today. No need to thank me. It works and it works rather well. Smile


Ah, so Windows finally has something like apt-get. Good to hear.
_________________
Funya | Opinionated Anime Reviews
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mangaman
Magical Girl


Joined: 13 Apr 2001
Posts: 7342
Location: Adam Tang's Noodle Bar

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sounds nifty, but I'm a bit of a control freak when it comes to installing software and where it puts it, checking licenses, opting out of rubbish, etc. However, next time I'm tasked with the delightful duty of fixing a friend/relative's PC, that would probably do the job nicely if it can automate the mega-install after reinstalling an OS.
_________________
Gisoku Budo - a martial arts blog with a twist
RetroOtaku - my nerdy retro gaming soap box
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CG
Yukino Miyazawa


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8519
Location: Brisvegas, QLD

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mangaman wrote:
Sounds nifty, but I'm a bit of a control freak when it comes to installing software and where it puts it, checking licenses, opting out of rubbish, etc. However, next time I'm tasked with the delightful duty of fixing a friend/relative's PC, that would probably do the job nicely if it can automate the mega-install after reinstalling an OS.


It can be done with networks and stuff as well apparently. Having used it recently, it does seem to install new clients on it's own which I'm not 100% happy with. It did change some of my default programs...

Still, it's awfully handy and I tend to install most updates manually anyway.
_________________
digtrioPortable - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Tragic Man
Abriel Nei Debrusc Borl Paryun Lafiel


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 7106
Location: Tamworth, NSW

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
What's a good, free flac to mp4 converter?
_________________
Nullus Anxietas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StorminNorman
Gillard-chan


Joined: 15 Aug 2001
Posts: 22106
Location: Tolmekia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I use Max.
_________________
XBL: Tamaaya | PSN: Stormo | Steam/GameCenter: StorminNorman | Stormo Plays Games
save your tears for the day when our pain is far behind
fast and free follow me we are soldiers stand or die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
The Tragic Man
Abriel Nei Debrusc Borl Paryun Lafiel


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 7106
Location: Tamworth, NSW

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I should have specified Windows compatible. Oops.

I searched for mysef and am using WinFF.
_________________
Nullus Anxietas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StorminNorman
Gillard-chan


Joined: 15 Aug 2001
Posts: 22106
Location: Tolmekia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Max is open source, so you should be able to download the source code and port/compile it for Windows.
_________________
XBL: Tamaaya | PSN: Stormo | Steam/GameCenter: StorminNorman | Stormo Plays Games
save your tears for the day when our pain is far behind
fast and free follow me we are soldiers stand or die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
CG
Yukino Miyazawa


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8519
Location: Brisvegas, QLD

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
It appears something has wormed itself into Firefox and keeps redirecting me to places and I now seem to permanently have an "ad box" of sorts down the bottom right hand corner that I can't get rid of. Doing the usual scans in the hope that'll help but if not would a re-installation of Firefox help?

EDIT: Never mind, managed to find it in Ad Block and have now got it blocked.
_________________
digtrioPortable - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Tragic Man
Abriel Nei Debrusc Borl Paryun Lafiel


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 7106
Location: Tamworth, NSW

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wasn't Facebook supposed to have forced Timeline on everyone at the beginning of April? It's still asking me if I want to switch.
_________________
Nullus Anxietas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soul Master Kaze
Shinji Ikari


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 3414
Location: Galactica

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hah. People who still use Facebook.
_________________
Fight for love like a soldier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
OniV2
Nene Romanova


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 2384
Location: Fairy Meadow, NSW

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been running Timeline since half way through last year.

I swear people make a bigger deal about it than they need.
_________________
Madman Fanzone | Youtube | MyAnimeList
PSN: Onibokusu | XBL: SoaringHeredity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
HimuraBattousai
Kagami Yagami


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 8692
Location: Tsukuyomi Shrine

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
OniV2 wrote:
I swear people make a bigger deal about it than they need.


On the internet? Never.
_________________
Funya | Opinionated Anime Reviews
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
StorminNorman
Gillard-chan


Joined: 15 Aug 2001
Posts: 22106
Location: Tolmekia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't even know what it is.
_________________
XBL: Tamaaya | PSN: Stormo | Steam/GameCenter: StorminNorman | Stormo Plays Games
save your tears for the day when our pain is far behind
fast and free follow me we are soldiers stand or die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Awex
Shana


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 2409
Location: Perth

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
StorminNorman wrote:
I don't even know what it is.


A slightly different layout for words on the facebook wall.
oh nooo
_________________
Steam / 3DS Friend Code: 4553 9983 2460
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
OniV2
Nene Romanova


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 2384
Location: Fairy Meadow, NSW

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
HimuraBattousai wrote:

On the internet? Never.


Point. Laughing
_________________
Madman Fanzone | Youtube | MyAnimeList
PSN: Onibokusu | XBL: SoaringHeredity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
chris-of-penrith
Nia Teppelin


Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 720
Location: penrith (western sydney)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
going to be getting an ipad, wonder if anyone knows if there has been any major problems with the new ipad?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
OniV2
Nene Romanova


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 2384
Location: Fairy Meadow, NSW

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
chris-of-penrith wrote:
going to be getting an ipad, wonder if anyone knows if there has been any major problems with the new ipad?


Heats up like no tomorrow.
_________________
Madman Fanzone | Youtube | MyAnimeList
PSN: Onibokusu | XBL: SoaringHeredity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Awex
Shana


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 2409
Location: Perth

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
chris-of-penrith wrote:
going to be getting an ipad, wonder if anyone knows if there has been any major problems with the new ipad?


too many pixels
_________________
Steam / 3DS Friend Code: 4553 9983 2460
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
OniV2
Nene Romanova


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 2384
Location: Fairy Meadow, NSW

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Awex wrote:

too many pixels


Which leads to images look like crap when browsing the web.
_________________
Madman Fanzone | Youtube | MyAnimeList
PSN: Onibokusu | XBL: SoaringHeredity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
chris-of-penrith
Nia Teppelin


Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 720
Location: penrith (western sydney)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
would it be better for me to get a ipad2 instead?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
FireAza
Kiichi Goto


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 5595
Location: Hasuda City, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Awex wrote:
[..]



too many pixels

Isn't that like saying "too many buxom and very willing women"?
_________________
I have a blog! (it helps if you imagine it in Martin Luther King's voice)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OniV2
Nene Romanova


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 2384
Location: Fairy Meadow, NSW

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
FireAza wrote:

Isn't that like saying "too many buxom and very willing women"?


Only in the sense that you don't have any condoms and said buxom women have a 99% chance of being impregnated.

Too much of a hassle in the long run.
_________________
Madman Fanzone | Youtube | MyAnimeList
PSN: Onibokusu | XBL: SoaringHeredity
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
StorminNorman
Gillard-chan


Joined: 15 Aug 2001
Posts: 22106
Location: Tolmekia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
chris-of-penrith wrote:
going to be getting an ipad, wonder if anyone knows if there has been any major problems with the new ipad?


I have one and it's basically the best thing I've ever spent money on.

The screen is just beautiful to look at. Sometimes I just activate it so I can look at how wonderful that screen is.

The only problem it has is that it can get a little warm on the side where the CPU is after intensive use, but it never gets iPhone 4 hot. (And you won't notice it if you're using a back cover or case anyway.
_________________
XBL: Tamaaya | PSN: Stormo | Steam/GameCenter: StorminNorman | Stormo Plays Games
save your tears for the day when our pain is far behind
fast and free follow me we are soldiers stand or die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
CG
Yukino Miyazawa


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8519
Location: Brisvegas, QLD

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
FireAza wrote:
Isn't that like saying "too many buxom and very willing women"?


"We need rest. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is spongy and bruised."

Razz
_________________
digtrioPortable - Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Awex
Shana


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 2409
Location: Perth

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_________________
Steam / 3DS Friend Code: 4553 9983 2460
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
StorminNorman
Gillard-chan


Joined: 15 Aug 2001
Posts: 22106
Location: Tolmekia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
The upscaling issue is a problem that will solve itself soon enough.
_________________
XBL: Tamaaya | PSN: Stormo | Steam/GameCenter: StorminNorman | Stormo Plays Games
save your tears for the day when our pain is far behind
fast and free follow me we are soldiers stand or die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mangaman
Magical Girl


Joined: 13 Apr 2001
Posts: 7342
Location: Adam Tang's Noodle Bar

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
My iPad 2 order (thankfully) never came through back in early Feb, so when the money was refunded I went and grabbed an iPad 3.

For me, I grabbed it for work, but wanted to go iOS to sync with my iPhone and to allow apps to roll across both platforms, hence why I didn't go for an Android device.

In terms of experience thus far, I absolutely love it - it's replaced the need to carry around notepads and paperwork and its portable and always-on so it's great for meetings. I went for wifi instead of 3G, but I can tether it to my iPhone if I need data on the fly. I've already had instances in meetings where we've been talking about a document we had saved elsewhere, and I've been able to bring it up on the fly and saved trips back/forth and assumptions based on memory. It also means all my notes are typed up by default and can be indexed and made searchable which helps with tracking tasks and committing details to knowledgebases.

Personally, I haven't had any issues with it, including the heat, which apparently isn't much worse than comprable tablets anyhows.

As for it vs the iPad 2, I can't talk much from a performance perspective (again, most of my stuff is for work, so productivity apps are what I'm using on it), but the screen is absolutely stunning. Those delicious HD raster and vector objects are unbelievable on the thing.

Interestingly, I didn't really notice the quality much when I started using mine compared to previous usage of a workmate's iPad 2, but I recently compared back to back, and the iPad 3 is amazing in terms of the pixel density.

So, I'd recommend rolling for an iPad 3 - performance is great, screen is delicious and it's a really good platform with great sync'ing between other iOS devices.
_________________
Gisoku Budo - a martial arts blog with a twist
RetroOtaku - my nerdy retro gaming soap box
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      

Page 27 of 29


Jump to:  

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum